Travel Day

15 Jun

I travel several days out of the year.  I should add up the number some time.  Yesterday was one of the craziest days I’ve had.  Nothing too dramatic happened. I made my flight and to the team hotel.  I think it was just the added stress of leaving for 3.5 months that made for an epic day.

My alarm went off at 7:00am.  After a quick shower and breakfast, I did some last minute packing.  My ride was supposed to pick me up at 8:00am.  Unfortunately, she ran in to some trouble on the way here.  I appreciated the effort though!  So, I took matters into my own hands and drove to DIA.  I don’t drive often, so I wasn’t even sure my truck had gas, let alone would start.  Fortunately, all was ok and I made it to DIA.

Now, to find a parking spot.  My friend had said she would pick my truck up later that day.  So opted to park it in the garage.  After making a few loops, I finally found a spot.  At 9:45am, I was standing outside my truck, wondering how I was going to carry 2 bike bags and 2 suit cases (I had a lot of stuff).  After a sorry attempt, I started to look around.  Finally, a couple pulled up.  When they got out of their car, I asked if they would help me carry my stuff.  They did, kindly.  They dropped it off near some carts, as I told them I could get it from here.  However, the carts we stopped at were returned carts only.  Ugh.  A driver came by with a cart.  I asked him how he got that.  He said the carts were “over there”.  I looked at my stuff, then looked at him.  There was no way I could carry my stuff to the carts.  He kindly gave me his cart.  I tried to give him some money, but he didn’t take it.

All right.  Stuff loaded on the cart, and away I went.  Having two bike bags sent me to an empty lane.  I got everything checked in, but not without minor drama.  My suit case was too heavy.  Crap.  I haven’t even made it to Europe yet!  I took some things out and put them in my bike bag.  No sweat.  I made it to the flight with plenty of time to spare.  Enough time to enjoy a coffee with teammate Chloe and her dad.  The flight was one of the worst I’ve been on.  Super bumpy the entire time.  Air traffic control must have heard about my day and gave our pilots the “bad air” to fly in.

We finally landed in Minneapolis, called for the hotel shuttle, and waited.  The shuttle arrived and we loaded our stuff with the help of the driver.  Off to the Super 8 we go.  A short ride to the hotel and we were there.  One minor hiccup…this wasn’t our hotel.  Ugh again.  Not entirely sure how we ended up at the wrong hotel, but we did.  We waited for a good 30 minutes to be picked up from the right hotel shuttle.  Our original shuttle driver had offered to just take us to the right hotel, so we started loading our bags back into the van.  The right shuttle pulls up, tells us we need to get going because she has to go back to the airport before dropping us off.  No, that wasn’t going to fly.  After she told us she was “already late” and this was a “special trip,” we decided to load our stuff back into the Super 8 shuttle.  Off we went.  The guy was super nice.  He was just getting off work and had made time to take us 4 miles to our right hotel.  Phew.  We made it.

I opted to make it another rest day and skip my openers.  It was a stressful day and trying to squeeze in a ride before the storm hit would add even more.  And, so that was my day.  Like I said, really not that dramatic.  It was more just the number of things that happened.  I was on a roll. Lesson learned from the day: there are some really nice people in this world.

Now, I’m hanging out in the hotel room in between races here at the Nature Valley Grand Prix.  More updates to come!

One Response to “Travel Day”

  1. Nancy Delzell June 16, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Sounds like a stressful day for sure. All’s well that ends well, huh? Yes, lots of good people in this world. Glad you ran into some of them. Good luck racing in Minneapolis and your upcoming trip to Europe. Three months will go by quickly. Enjoy your opportunities and make the most of them. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

